ACTION ITEMS: FLORIDA: TWO ALERTS FOR RED LIGHT CAMERAS

CREDIT: Florida First Network

Tallahassee Legislative Alert
February 15th, 2016
(2 ACTION ALERTS IN THIS MESSAGE)

FOR TUESDAY THE 16th.. ACTION NEEDED


Call to action to repeal the use of red light cameras in the State of Florida
HB 4027


Representative Richard Corcoran, Chair of the House Appropriations Committee scheduled HB 4027 for this Tuesday February 16th, 2016 at 3:00 PM.

The House Appropriations Committee is the last committee stop before going to the floor for a full House vote. Passing HB 4027 is crucial so we can focus our efforts on the Senate side.
HB 4027 will repeal the use of traffic infraction devices, including the use of red light cameras. We know that red light cameras are used only to increase revenue for local governments. They are not there to increase public safety. Notoriously, cities that lose money on the traffic infraction detectors invariably cancel their contracts and stop using them. It is blatantly evident that red light cameras are solely revenue generation tools at the expense of public safety. Instead of increasing the duration of yellow lights at traffic intersections, which has proved to save lives, the Florida Department of Transportation deliberately changed the state policy to reduce yellow light intervals to below federal recommendations. This substantially increased revenue from violations while increasing the risk to public safety. To make matters worse, Red Flex Traffic Solutions corporate officers have even been arrested and convicted for bribing local government officials to support installation of red light cameras.


You can help put an end to the corruption, pay-offs and extortion surrounding the use of red light cameras.
HB 4027 will be heard in the House Appropriations Committee on Tuesday February 16th, 2016 at 3:00 PM


TAKE ACTION


Please call and e-mail the members of the House Appropriations Committee and tell them to support HB 4027.
  COPY AND PASTE THE FOLLOWING TO EMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THIS COMMITTEE

ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov; jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov; gwyn.clarke-reed@myfloridahouse.gov; richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov; janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov; erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov; matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov; clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov; mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov; charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov; larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov; jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov; jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov; marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov; mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov; elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov; kevin.rader@myfloridahouse.gov; holly.raschein@myfloridahouse.gov; david.richardson@myfloridahouse.gov; ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov; darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov; cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov; greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov; alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov; john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov; dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov; janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov; george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov


Full name Phone Numbers


Albritton, Ben (850) 717-5056

Boyd, Jim (850) 717-5071

Clarke-Reed, Gwyndolen "Gwyn" (850) 717-5092

Corcoran, Richard (850) 717-5037

Cruz, Janet (850) 717-5062

Fresen, Erik (850) 717-5114

Hudson, Matt (850) 717-5080

Ingram, Clay (850) 717-5001

Jones, Mia L. (850) 717-5014

McBurney, Charles (850) 717-5016

Metz, Larry (850) 717-5032

Nuñez, Jeanette M. (850) 717-5119

Oliva, Jose R. (850) 717-5110

O'Toole, H. Marlene (850) 717-5033

Pafford, Mark S. (850) 717-5086

Porter, Elizabeth W. (850) 717-5010

Rader, Kevin (850) 717-5081

Raschein, Holly (850) 717-5120 holly.

Richardson, David (850) 717-5113 david.

Roberson, Kenneth L. "Ken" (850) 717-5075

Rouson, Darryl Ervin (850) 717-5070 d

Stafford, Cynthia A. (850) 717-5109

Steube, W. Gregory "Greg" (850) 717-5073

Wood, John (850) 717-5041

Young, Dana D. (850) 717-5060

Adkins, Janet (850) 717-5011

Moraitis, Jr., George R. (850) 717-5093

NEXT ITEM


SB 168, the Senate bill to repeal Red Light Cameras passed the Senate Transportation Committee on February 4th and has two more Committee stops.

It is the next Committee stop for SB 168 that we fear may run into trouble, which is the Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development chaired by Senator Jack Latvala.
Senator Latvala has been a vocal supporter of keeping Red Light Cameras and may use his discretion as the Committee Chairman to bury SB 168 and never let it be heard in his Committee. This effectively kills the chance to repeal Red Light Cameras this Session.
If we want SB 168 to be heard in his Committee we must make the phone calls and e-mails to Senator Latvala. If he supports keeping Red Light Cameras, then he can speak and vote in opposition to this bill. It is blatantly unfair to the millions of Floridians who want to see the cameras taken down not to have this bill debated and voted up or down.


TAKE ACTION
We have momentum to repeal Red Light Cameras, let's not rest now, this is too important.
Contact Senator Jack Latvala and ask him to schedule SB 168 on the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development Agenda


Senator Jack Latvala
Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development
Tallahassee Number: (850) 487-5020
District Office Number: (727) 793-2797
E-Mail: latvala.jack.web@flsenate.gov

HUMOR:

"How would you like a job where when you made a mistake,

a big red light goes on and 18,000 people boo?"

Jacques Plante

Views: 166

Comment

You need to be a member of First Coast Tea Party to add comments!

Join First Coast Tea Party

Comment by FCTP on February 16, 2016 at 4:00pm

They make me nervous too.. I am always wondering if I should slam on my brakes if the light turns yellow. Then I look in the rearview mirror and step on the gas.

Comment by Jeanne DeSilver on February 16, 2016 at 2:58pm

Some people become so nervous as they approach a traffic light, afraid that the flash will catch them, that they become distracted and unsafe!

Comment by Roberto Hurstez on February 16, 2016 at 7:30am

I can't start to count how many times I've been at a RED LIGHT, seen the FLASH and watched some moron cruise right through a RED LIGHT --- hopelessly late. It's frightening to see how often the FLASHES go off at these lights. Every time these are RED LIGHTS. Nothing points out so perfectly how many terrible drivers are on the road. I point out that these morons are the ones that will T-bone you or you will T-Bone as they go through a red-light.

National Debt Clock

  

The First CoastTea Party is a non-profit organization. We have no deep-pocketed special interest funding our efforts.

You may contact us at:

First Coast Tea Party
731 Duval Station Rd, Suite 107-171
Jacksonville, FL 32218
904-392-7475

Helpful Links

Blog Posts

An update for me personally.

Babs,

Late last June, had a fall and dislocated my right shoulder. Four days later, my son kidnapped me (sic) and relocated me to North Carolina and established the followup medical requirements including Physical Therapy. I sold my home in Jacksonville and bought a home here. My son is a retired Marine. Obviously, I've been among the missing at FCTP meetings and events, but my heart is still with all. I did cast my last vote in Florida for Rick Scott and Ron DeSantis and held my…

Continue

Posted by H W Schroeder AXCS(AW) USNRET on November 9, 2018 at 4:11pm — 1 Comment

© 2018   Created by LeadershipCouncil.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service