ACTION ITEM: FLORIDA: RED LIGHT CAMERAS 1/25/17 Before noon...

Credits: Liberty First Network

HB 6007 which will repeal Red Light Cameras will be heard in the House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee on Wednesday, January 25th, 2017 at 1:00 PM.

On average, intersections in Florida using Red Light Cameras are more dangerous! A 2016 report by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shows intersections using the cameras reported:
• Total crashes UP 10.14%
• Angle crashes UP 6.72%
• Rear-end crashes UP 11.41%
• Serious injury crashes UP 26.80%
• Fatal crashes UP 100%
Studies have shown a significant reduction of crashes by just increasing the yellow light timing. But, lengthening yellow lights does not make money for the state and local governments. In fact, a House Committee report stated that increasing yellow light timing would cause a reduction in revenue, because there would be less red light infractions. I THOUGHT THAT WAS THE GOAL! Apparently not, it is all about the money.
The fact is RLCs are big money. They have pulled in millions into state coffers. It’s nearly free money for the state, as the vendor pays to install them, and local cities and counties pay to oversee them- even to the point of losing money. The state gets 52.5% of fine money for very little outlay.
2017 is the year we end the use of these unconstitutional devices in Florida but we need your help to make that happen.
TAKE ACTION
HB 6007 will be heard in the House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee on Wednesday, January 25th, 2017 at 1:00 PM.
Please call and e-mail the members of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee and tell them to support HB 6007.


  COPY THE NAMES BELOW TOEMAIL THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov; clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov; barbara.watson@myfloridahouse.gov; kimberly.daniels@myfloridahouse.gov; michael.grant@myfloridahouse.gov; kristin.jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov; amber.mariano@myfloridahouse.gov; ralph.massullo@myfloridahouse.gov; mike.miller@myfloridahouse.gov; newt.newton@myfloridahouse.gov; bobby.payne@myfloridahouse.gov; jackie.toledo@myfloridahouse.gov; matt.willhite@myfloridahouse.gov; jayer.williamson@myfloridahouse.gov; clay.yarborough@myfloridahouse.gov

YOU CAN CALL AS WELL:


Last Name Phone Number E-Mail
Drake, Brad (850) 717-5005

Ingram, Clay (850) 717-5001

Watson, Barbara (850) 717-5107ov

Daniels, Kimberly (850) 717-5014

Grant, Michael (850) 717-5075

Jacobs, Kristin Diane (850) 717-5096

Mariano, Amber (850) 717-5036

Massullo, MD, Ralph E. (850) 717-5034

Miller, Mike (850) 717-5047

Newton, Sr., Wengay M. "Newt" (850) 717-5070

Payne, Bobby (850) 717-5019

Toledo, Jackie (850) 717-5060

Willhite, Matt (850) 717-5086

Williamson, Jayer (850) 717-5003

Yarborough, Clay (850) 717-5012

"Change does not roll in on the wheels of inevitability, but comes through continuous struggle. And so we must straighten our backs and work for our freedom. A man can't ride you unless your back is bent."

Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

Views: 187

Comment

You need to be a member of First Coast Tea Party to add comments!

Join First Coast Tea Party

Comment by Jeanne DeSilver on January 30, 2017 at 10:11am

Does anyone know the results of the vote? Here is the only response I received from the emails I sent:
Williamson, Jayer
To'Jeanne DeSilver' Today at 10:31 AM
Thank you for the email. With traffic studies showing no reductions in crashes (actually an increase) it causes me to believe red light cameras are only being used as a revenue source. Personally, I believe we should be more worried about public safety over simply generating more revenue for government. This is why I voted YES last week to repeal red light cameras. Don’t hesitate contacting me in the future.
Your Public Servant,
Jayer Williamson

Comment by Jeanne DeSilver on January 24, 2017 at 11:11am

It's true; I'm now nervous at intersections as I fear not getting through before the camera catches the tail end of my car. It's a very high fine, which causes a hardship on people, making them more nervous.

National Debt Clock

  

The First CoastTea Party is a non-profit organization. We have no deep-pocketed special interest funding our efforts.

You may contact us at:

First Coast Tea Party
1205 Salt Creek Island Dr
Ponte Vedra, FL 32082
904-392-7475

Helpful Links

Blog Posts

Collecting for our Bahamian Neighbors

Good morning!

We spent last week wondering if we would be hit by Hurricane Dorian.  Thankfully we were spared.  However, the Bahamas were not so lucky.  I am sure you have seen the devastation there.

My daughter has a friend (a nurse) who is arranging multiple trips to the area and will be collecting supplies to take to those areas.  If you would like to help, we will collect things at…

Continue

Posted by Babs Jordan on September 6, 2019 at 9:38am — 1 Comment

© 2019   Created by LeadershipCouncil.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service